Today, was the last Sunday using the Old Roman Missal. Finally! For the past three months I have been hearing about the changes and the reasons for them so much, that I am super excited for the New Roman Missal to finally get here. Sure the learning process at times was trying…6 hour lecture on the changes, all the while sitting on hard wooden pews, followed by another lecture the next day with just my school’s staff (I guess no one told our school chaplain we just had six hours on it the day before at the district’s faith development day), followed by countless discussions with students and showing them videos on why the Roman Missal is changing….ps Mark Hart’s short 10 minute video has been the best I’ve seen so far… and the fact that it was 10 minutes may have played a factor in why it’s my top choice! You can see the link for yourself below.

New Roman Missal: For High School Teens

I have been really impressed with how the Church has dealt with the introductions of this new Roman Missal.  Not, only have they gotten people to warm up to the idea, but they have gotten people eagerly waiting the start of the New Liturgical year.  Today, we practiced before mass the new words, but continued using the old for mass today.  My husband was actually disappointed that we weren’t changing that day! Even people I know who had disagreed or thought it was a big pain have changed their opinions.

Here are some of the top reasons I have particularly found useful:

1) The new translation connects us more with Scripture. For example, “Lord, I am not worthy that you should enter under my roof” At first when I heard this I thought “roof” sounded incredibly weird, but once I understood it was referring to a specific story in the Gospel, it made perfect sense.

2) It is changing the words so that they more closely reflect the words spoken 2000 years ago.  Why wouldn’t we want to speak the words that the earliest Christians spoke? The Christians who walked and talked with Jesus.

3) “That’s how we say it in Poland.”   I heard this from a colleague and thought it was really cool, that the English translation is now going to match what other languages have been saying.

Link | This entry was posted in Catholic, Education, Life, Religious Ed, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

